Coniston - Spiritual Home?

Renegadenemo

Post by Renegadenemo »

I keep hearing this, Coniston - spiritual home thing and I'm sorry, I just don't buy it. I mean, why not Ullswater where she set her first record, or Dumbelyung where she set her last?

Both worthy contenders, so why do people keep harping on about the one place where it all went wrong? Her darkest hour...

Coniston water is a creepy, foreboding place that doesn't seem to want her back on so many levels. So, at the risk of much controversy (like I give a flying fling at a rolling pastry) may I suggest that her new spiritual home be the Isle of Bute onto which she was so warmly welcomed along with her crew and on which, for the first time in her history of new roll-outs, she performed impeccably and not as the moody old bitch seen previously.
I'm only a plumber from Cannock...

"As to reward, my profession is its own reward;" Sherlock Holmes.

'It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to.' W.C. Fields.
midlife

Post by midlife »

It’s a fantastic place with fantastic people so why not Bute[.]
Cheers
Wayne
Edit, you’ll have to change the logo to spirit of the loch though lol

VdGGfan

Re: Coniston - Spiritual Home?

Post by VdGGfan »

Hear hear!
I was there at the relaunch and the emotion was tangible.
This island was buzzing for a fortnight at a time we really needed some cheering up.
I'm sure the people here would be happy to make Bluebird and the team honorary Brandanes (if such a title existed).
You will be welcome back here anytime.
Engine 711

Post by Engine 711 »

Ullswater - still under the LDNPA surely - so similar probs to 'C'. Are there any speed restrictions already in place, do we know....? Believe DMC ultimately didn't like it because of its shape, with a dog leg - but not such a prob if not intending to run really fast.

Dumbleyung - perhaps a tad far....?